Projects: New recipes

Standard

Today’s blog isn’t well planned or thought out, but I wanted to share the new recipe I made for dinner. Since I’m in the middle of the “Snowjam ’14” in Atlanta, I wanted some comfort food. Luckily my mom and I didn’t get caught out yesterday afternoon when traffic got hellish and the roads turned to ice… but my dad wasn’t so lucky. He decided to stay at work, thankfully, so he didn’t get caught in the awful traffic/ absolutely blocked and impassable roads, but he did have to spend the night at his office. When he was finally able to come home this afternoon, I wanted to make sure we had some good, warm food ready for him.

The recipe for today was: Creamy Rotel Dip Mac & Cheese

I started with a recipe I found via Pinterest (because who can do better than Pinterest for recipes, right?) The recipe can be found here. However, I modified it quite a bit, so I’ll go through it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups cooked pasta (I used a cup of tri-color rotini and a cup of penne)
  • 3 Cups milk (the recipe calls for whole milk, but I used 1%)
  • 5 tbsp butter
  • 5 tbsp flour
  • Sriracha salt to taste (just because I have it around. plain salt is just fine)
  • 1 2/3 Cup Velveeta cheese cut in chunks
  • Red pepper flakes (the recipe calls for black pepper, but I prefer the heat of red pepper)
  • 1/2 bag (about 1 1/2 Cups) of frozen seasoning blend vegetables (onion, bell peppers, celery)
  • 1 Can Rotel Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilies
  • 1/2 Cup shredded cheese to top

Steps:

  • Cook the pasta to al dente and drain
  • Pre-heat your oven. The recipe says 350, but since my mom already had veggies going at 425 I just used that and decreased the time I kept the pasta in for.
  • Make the roux: While pasta is cooking, melt butter in a large pot over medium-low heat. Stir in the flour one tbsp at a time and then stir until smooth. Let the flour/ butter mixture cook; stir it while it simmers, if you need to turn up the heat some.  Add the salt and pepper to taste. Turn the heat to medium and start adding the mile one cup at a time. After you add each cup, stir and allow the mixture to thicken. Don’t worry if it’s a bit lumpy, just stir to keep it from scorching. Once all the milk is in, allow to heat up while you stir until it becomes smooth and thick.
  • Stir in the chunks of Velveeta and the frozen vegetables. Stir as the cheese melts. Once everything is melted, stir in the can of Rotel. If you don’t like spicy, use the Original Rotel Tomatoes.
  • Once everything is incorporated and the vegetables are warmed through, put your pasta in a casserole dish (mine was about 9×9, the recipe calls for 9×13). Pour or ladle your cheese mixture over the pasta, using a spoon to move the pasta around so all the cheese can sink around the noodles. You may not need all the cheese mixture. I had about 1 Cup left over, so I’m saving it for regular cheese dip for another time!
  • Put the mac&cheese in the oven for 18-20 minutes. Then top with shredded cheese, and let cook another 5 minutes. Remove from the oven and let sit until cook enough to eat.

My mom made a side of baked Zucchini and Sweet Potatoes, and we had a great dinner! My dad even went back for thirds 🙂

Also Job Search Update: Due to the awful weather and sketchy road conditions, my interview for tomorrow morning got rescheduled to next Wednesday morning. I also have a phone ‘interview’, more of an informational update, tomorrow afternoon for my applications with the Peace Corps. I’m in the final stages of placement with the Peace Corps, something I’m considering as an alternative to employment.

Leave a Reply

