Job Search Update: Job Acquired… kind of.

Standard

You may have noticed that it has been a few days since I’ve posted anything here. Remember that Peace Corps phone call I was getting on Thursday? Well, I got it. And then a few hours later, I got an email with an invitation to be a Peace Corps Volunteer (PCV). Exciting! But also terrifying.

I took a long weekend (Friday-Sunday) to figure out if I was going to accept the invitation. It’s a huge decision, made even more complicated because of the place I am in my relationship with my boyfriend. If I do this, it’s 27 months away; I’ll be in a strange country, with no guaranteed phone or internet service, and only have roughly 6.5 weeks of time off. It’s a lot to think about. But after looking through all the documents and spending the weekend discussing everything with my SO, we decided that there was no reason for me not to go (other than it’ll suck to be apart for so long). I submitted my acceptance of the invitation this morning.

This doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop posting on this blog. I’m still planning on continuing my projects and doing job searches up until I leave (I won’t do any applications probably, but can at least look and see what’s available. Additionally, I still have several planned blogs still to write.

While accepting my invitation is a huge step in the process to becoming a PCV, it doesn’t mean that I am definitely for-sure-100% going. I have a LOT of documentation and assignments to complete before I go, so most of my “Updates” will be about that. Also, I will concentrate future blogs on what I will be doing while waiting for my departure to Belize. This will include preparations, what I learn about the country and what I’ll be doing, and (hopefully) a trip to Europe in May with my SO.

If you haven’t seen my travel blog, mytinytravels, I originally created it to document my study abroad trip to England in 2011. Take a look at it, and keep it in your tabs; I will be updating it and using it for a blog of my PC service!

Leave a Reply

