Projects: Pizza dough?

Standard

The past few days I’ve had a huge craving for pizza. But being the frugal person I am, I’m not about to order out or go to a restaurant for pizza. I also don’t feel like going to the grocery store: I have pasta sauce, I have veggies, I have cheese. The only thing I need is pizza dough. I’ve been teaching myself how to bake, and I can make a mean bread dough if I do say so myself… So I decided to try making my own.

So right now, I’m waiting for the yeast to set with the water, I’m writing up this blog.

I found a very simple recipe from Pioneer Woman for pizza dough you can find here. But of course, I’ve got my own adjustments that I’ll talk about here.

Ingredients: 1 tsp Active Dry Yeast, 4 cups flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/3 cup EVOO.

So of course, I had to spice the recipe up a bit. Instead of normal salt, I used 1 tsp smoked Sriracha salt. It’s a specialty salt I got for Christmas (because I LOVE sriracha), and I’ve been using it as a general replacement for salt in all my recipes. It’s not really spicy, but it does have a bit of a smokey, chili kick that I like.

Then, I added 1 tbsp of flax seeds. I love the flavor they give to bread, and the health benefits are great. Consider getting a bag like this and adding flax seeds to a TON of different recipes whether they’re baked, raw, stove-cooked, or smoothies. You can also buy flax-seed meal, which I’ve used to make really great bread and bagels. For more on flax seeds and their health benefits, see the entry on WebMD.

20140207_121711

Finally, I love having herbs in my bread. I had some leftover garlic-infused olive oil in the fridge, so I used that instead of the EVOO, and then I added in basil paste. I can’t tell you how amazing this smells right now!

Thanks to Sybaritica for the photo!

I combined everything except the water/ yeast in my stand mixer.

Then added in the water and yeast.

The recipe had me use the paddle instead of the dough hook attachment. I thought that was strange, but followed what it said. I think next time I’ll try to use the dough hook; the times I’ve made bread, it seems like it is easier to remove the finished dough from the hook than the paddle. This is the finished dough.

Anyway, the dough is now covered in a bowl in the fridge, and will use it for fajita chicken pizza for dinner! (Pizza recipe here. BTW- raw chicken is disgusting. It was an ordeal to marinate it, or more so to CLEAN after working with the raw stuff.) Later tonight I’ll put together the pizza and post some photos of the final product!

Leave a Reply

