Projects: Writing

Standard

As you can probably guess by how long-winded my blog posts tend to be, one of my passions is writing. I have mentioned NaNoWriMo here before, and want to emphasize how amazing the program is. First, it’s free. Which is wonderful in itself. Second, it not only helps you practice writing for the sake of loving to write, it also helps you learn and develop as a writer. Forums on the website give you pointers to better character development, establish reasonable plot twists, and encourage you when it seems like you’ll never get past the 5k, 20k, and 40k walls. I can’t gloat about them enough, and I encourage anyone who has ever even toyed with the idea of writing a story to check it out.

So, shameless promotion aside, I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo the past 3 years and amazingly won all three (despite all attempts by my schoolwork to keep me from doing so last November). I love the story I’ve been working on, which now consists of two books in (almost) completed first draft form, with a third on the way… when I get around to it.

It’s that last bit that is the catch though. I’ve always been success

ful spitting out 50000 words in November. But somehow ones the race is over and the competition ends, I can’t keep myself driven to write. I love my story, I want to finish it. I want to be able to send out queries and maybe get it published one day. But I just can’t get myself to write. So, it an attempt to get myself to do this, I’m doing an unofficial “miniNano” in the Month of March. I’ve found a widget that I can post to update my word count and you, my readers have to hold me accountable to achieving my goal.

Here’s the goal: Write 50,000 words in the month of March. This is only about 1612 words per day, just under what I did in November. And this time, since

I’m not taking classes or working, I have no reason not to write as much as I can all day. Mini-goals that I have are less strict: I’d like to finish the first draft of book 2 and start book 3. I’d also like to dedicate at least an hour each day to editing through book one, and maybe I’ll be able to have it query-ready before I have to leave for Belize.

Leave a Reply

