Questionnaire and a Question to YOU!

Standard

I found this questionnaire via Jodie Llewellyn, who got it from The YA League. I loved it so much, I wanted to type up my answers for my own blog. I promise I’ll get out a ‘real’ planned post soon!

Writing Habits 

1. Typed or Handwritten?

I prefer to type. It’s easier to save and review than paper; I like to write and save by chapter, so then I can go back easily to change bits or search for accuracy in future (I can’t imagine searching through pages and pages in a notebook to find the chapter I ‘think’ something is in, and having to repeat that over and over.) I also noticed when I did have to write by hand that my writing couldn’t keep up with what was going on in my head, and I’d get lost! Typing is much better for me.

I do use a hand-written journal for notes and planning. Since it’s just for me and I am not planning to send bits off to my brainstormer/critic (aka, my boyfriend), I can keep it on paper and in a pretty leather-bound journal.

I love my journal– handmade paper and leather bound. Sure, my cat knocked nail polish remover on the cover, but my notes and planning stayed safe inside!

Even in my journal I can’t resist having some things typed!

Notes and plans in my journal. I’ve got everything from character bios to location ideas to timelines to chapter-by-chapter (roughly) guides.

2. Cursive or Printed?

Kind of a rough mixture of the two. Another reason I don’t write by hand– my handwriting is terrible, especially if I write fast (which I do when writing my story, see my explanation about keeping up with my brain!) and it all jumbles into a bunch of loopy, messy chicken scratches. For a perfectionist like me, this won’t do at all.

3. Show us your favourite pen.

Don’t have one, I just use whatever is near me. If I’m writing in my planning journal a fountain or gel pen works best. Ballpoint doesn’t write too well on handmade paper.

4. Where do you like to write?

When I was at school my writing space was my desk. I had to have everything cleared off except for my writing journal and my laptop, but it worked well. Now that I’m home I can’t use my old desk because the chair has no back and is uncomfortable (firstworldissues much?) so my writing spot is either on the living room couch or at the kitchen table.

5. Who are your five favorite authors in terms of authorial style?

I am in the middle of the Divergent series and I love Veronica Roth. I have issues with the first-person style, but Roth and Suzanne Collins both are great and have made me enjoy reading books in that style. I prefer writing in third person limited, my favorite author in this style is of course JK Rowling.

6. What are you your three favourite books on writing?

I haven’t read much on writing. I should probably do more so I can perfect my writing style. I did win a copy of The Negative Trait Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi. It’s a good resource, but I haven’t used it much since I developed the characters for my current book years ago. I’ll be referring to it when I start my next book!

They also have The Positive Trait Thesaurus and The Emotion Thesaurus. Check them out!

7. Have you ever competed in NaNoWriMo?

Yes. My first time competing was way back in 2007, and I failed miserably. I thought I couldn’t possibly ever write a novel after that. Fortunately, I tried again in 2011, and have been participating ever since.

8. Have you ever won NaNoWriMo?

Yes! After my disaster in 2007 I took a few years to mature as a writer (I was in high school back then and had neither the time or the discipline to write 50k words). I tried again in 2011 and won, and have won each year since then!

9. Have you ever had anything published?

No. I’d like to eventually get the series I’m currently working on published. I’ve got 2 of (hopefully) 3 books written for the series, one edited through once. I’m getting some other people to read and critique them (my boyfriend, bless his heart, isn’t a good critic. He gets some grammar edits and tells me when something doesn’t make sense, but that’s it). Hopefully before I leave for Belize I’ll be able to start the query process.

10. What projects are you working on now?

I’m working on a YA/NA series. I just finished my first edits of book 1, As the Blood Moon Rises, and the first draft of book 2, Ice on the Horizon. Now to start book 3 (no name yet)!

11. What is your soundtrack to writing?

I have a concentration problem when I write. Not that I don’t love to write, but I also love to sing along with music. And the two do not mix well.

12. Do you have a writing pump-up song?

However, if I need help with inspiration to START writing, Muse’s Supermassive Black Hole is a good one.

I also love Arctic Snow  and Heart Full of Black by Burning Brides. Thanks to my friend Alyssa for giving these to me in high school on a CD with other ‘pump up’ music. We had created a story about ourselves as assassins, and these were part of the soundtrack.

(ONE OF MY OWN Q’S) Do you plan your work ahead of time or are you a ‘pantser’?

I am a planner. Strictly. I’ve decided my downfall during my first NaNoWriMo was due to the fact that I had nothing planned out. Beginnings and endings are easy to write. Middles are hard. That’s why I must have everything decided. That’s not saying that while I write new things don’t come up; my original plan for book one of the series I am working on was 20 chapters long. The first draft was 67.

As I said before, I use journals to plan. I have one for the series I’m working on, and I have one for this blog. It’s a place to write down notes, ideas for future posts/chapters, and help my brain stay organized.

I want to hear from you!

If you’re a writer like me, I’d love to hear your answers to these questions! I don’t care if you’re a blogger, a novelist, or a professional tech writer, all are welcome to comment. I’d love to hear from you!

 

Also I just got into twitter (sigh) and I use it to send out tidbits about my writing and my blogging. If you’re there, follow me @k_smith007!

Leave a Reply

